PDA

View Full Version : New Member- Winch Info


quercuschips
12-13-2007, 04:35 AM
Hello,</P>


I just recently found the group and have read thru several of the posts looking for info on mounting a winch on the 1100.</P>


I have had the camo 1100 for about 2 months and don't have but about 20 hours on it.</P>


I have been to the dealer a couple of times waiting for a mounting kit for it.</P>


The last trip he told me to get one for the 900 and adapt it.</P>


Can someone please tell me how you have mounted the winch on the 1100?</P>


Thanks!!</P>

Nick-America
12-13-2007, 05:51 AM
Quercuschips</P>


I don't know what kind of winch you have but assume it is the Warn 3.0. Iinstalled the 3.0 on my 1100 when I purchased it because I wanted to know how and where the wires mounted. I did have the V4288 Mount Kit which is the one recommended with thatwinch for the 1100. Kubota supplied 8 pages of instructions with the winch and the kit. The instructions were straight forward and helped a lot. I would be happy toemail or fax you the instructions I have if you like. After you get them we could communicate again if any questions.The instructions are good but the install still took me about 3-4 hours, however I did some things the instructions didn't mention. Also, anything one does the first time takes longer than the second time. </P>


You will really like the 1100. Like TWO GUNS, I would recommend getting the high-position air intake kit. If I picked out a place on the Kubota for the "worst location" to have the air intake for the filter it would be in the location it comes from the factory. I must say even though the high-position is available I don't like the fact I have to purchase it to correct a problem purchased with the RTV. I thought about adding "something" homemade to get the air intake higher but it needs to be flatted, as Kubota has done,to get the proper amount of air through it. The problem is the fuel tank is on that side and putting fuel in is difficult enough without having a hose or tube coming out in the same location to get the intake higher.</P>


I assume you cut a lot of oak for wood.</P>


Again, let me know if you want the instructions. Otherwise, I would beglad to email you how I mounted mine or put it on this site and it would be a lot less than 8 pages-I think.</P>


Nick</P>

quercuschips
12-13-2007, 07:05 AM
Nick</P>


Thanks for the reply!!</P>


I haven't purchased a winch, butam planning to buy a warn.</P>


Does the V4288 mount kit come from kubota or warn?</P>


I would appreciate receiving the instructions by email.</P>


My address is quercus@centerville.net</P>


You are one of the few people who knows "quercus".</P>


I operate a chip mill in middle Tn and sell them to a paper mill in Ky.</P>


Thanks!!</P>

Nick-America
12-13-2007, 07:55 AM
Quercus</P>


The V4288 comes from Kubota and the instructions are for mounting on the 1100 and are Kubota's instructions. After you receive them and get the winch-any questions let me know. Can probably save you some time. </P>


Have friends in the McMinnville area to the Huntsville area. Been there several times. Also, there is a large paper mill down stream from us at Wickliffe, Ky.</P>


Nick</P>

quercuschips
12-13-2007, 10:20 AM
Nick,</P>


I ship to Domtar (formerly Willamette, Weyerhaeuser) at Hawesville, Ky</P>


I live south of Hohenwald, Tn and my business is close to Centerville.</P>


I appreciate the instructions, I will stop by the Kubota dealer next week and see about getting the mounting kit.</P>


I will probably buy the winch off ebay.</P>


Quercuschips</P>

bczoom
12-13-2007, 12:33 PM
Quercus.

First, welcome to the forum.

Second, Oak is my favorite wood. Be it firewood or trim or furniture, I just like Oak...

Anyway, if you're looking at the Warn, give Ramsey a look as well. You didn't mention your plans for the winch but if it's going to be used often or for any logging type of processing, the Ramsey may be a better choice. The remote control on the Ramsey can be very handy.

My winch was selected primarily for processing firewood. I prefer to drag the logs to the trail. I had the tractor with Farmi winch but harvesting was a bit too slow. I now take the RTV into the woods, select the tree, fell it, top it, drag it to the trail (with the remote control on the winch), chunk it and load into the RTV. With this process, the remote is priceless. I can be at the tree/log instead of the RTV for the entire winching process.

Brian

hammerhead
12-13-2007, 01:58 PM
Wow! Brain you are getting good... answering my questions before I ask them. : )</P>


I was wondering about using a winch for pulling out logs. I am very pleasantly surprised that you prefer this set up to using a Farmi on the tractor. Do you have a deep cycle battery for this set up?</P>


You have the 3000 with symthetic rope corect..</P>


</P>


glenn</P>

Nick-America
12-13-2007, 02:53 PM
Thanks Brian and Deerloper, too.</P>


Just about every time I thinkI have seen everything, I look at this forum and know I have not-just kidding, but it is great to see what other folks have done. </P>


Brian, you make a good point about the wireless remote over the wired remote. Hindsite is pretty good as they say. I won't be dragging any logs but would like to have the wireless-more control over the "winchee"-a word? I would also have purchased a larger rated winch-because. I was too anxious to get the 1100 and went with the offered winch for it.</P>


Deerloper, what a great RTV you have. How does the rig handle the tracks? You are quite serious about your approach to the problem you have solved. The finished product is something to be prood of. Thanks for sharing with us.</P>


Nick</P>

pappy19
12-13-2007, 05:19 PM
Hi-</P>


I really think that you will be very sorry if you go with a 3000 winch. You really need a 5000 and I would recommend the Ramsey 5000 at this place-</P>


</P>


http://www.allterrainonline.com/view.php?nav=subcat5&amp;catID=108&amp;prodID=641</P>

TWO GUNS
12-13-2007, 05:48 PM
I agree with pappy19, that company is really nice to do business with !!!

bczoom
12-14-2007, 04:32 AM
Hammerhead - A Farmi is a whole different beast. It'll definitely out-perform any ATV/UTV winch but the harvesting process just took too long. It would obviously do a better job dragging but once at the trail, I need to quit since there's no place to haul the wood with the tractor/winch setup.

That said, you can still drag a decent log with the 3000# winch. I had one snag a little and it started dragging the RTV up hill. The winch did bog down but I was surprised it would drag the RTV (with the emergency brake on).

I have purchased the Amsteel rope but haven't yet installed it. I need to pick up a Hawse fairlead to replace my roller and just haven't gotten around to it.

I do have a deep-cycle battery.

Since we're discussing winches, I want to toss out a couple other things:
- If you're doing lifting type applications (e.g. a snowplow), you'll probably want to get the mechanical brake on the winch (most don't come with it). Without it, the winch will allow some bleed-out when under load and whatever it's holding up will slowly come down.

- Not sure but I believe Warn now offers a wireless option. I believe both offer it as an option so you can probably get/install it retrospectively.

- I too purchased from the place Pappy and TWO GUNS got theres. Great company.

- Re. a 3000# or #5000, that's going to be based on your own usage. What you do with your winch (pulling your RTV out or pulling things to your RTV), how far you travel, what insurance/security you would like to have...
Myself, I ride hard-packed surfaces and rarely 1/2 mile from home. I don't have many conditions that could get my RTV stuck. If it does get stuck and the winch can't save me, I have and would use (in this order) tractors, skidsteers and excavators to get me out. My primary use for the winch is for felling and dragging trees. If I strap onto a log and the winch doesn't like the load, no problem. I cut the log into a shorter length. The 3K# winch tucks into the compartment on the RTV 900 (is that also true on the 1100?). The 5K# is an exterior mount. I bang my shins enough on draw bars, trailer tongues/couplers... that having it protrude out wasn't my perference.

TWO GUNS (I'm going to make some assumptions here so correct me if I'm wrong) on the other hand uses his RTV differently. He's often very far from other equipment to help if/when issues arise. He also rides in very mucky/muddy/swamp conditions and is more prone than I for getting stuck due to the surface. His primary application is to get the RTV out if stuck. He <u>needs</u> that winch to get him out, 100% of the time. His application is more for insurance when needed. If I was in his shoes, I too would go with a bigger winch.

TWO GUNS
12-14-2007, 04:50 AM
Bczoom,</P>


You are 100% correct !!!</P>


I would suggest anyone, whatever the winch size or application is, to invest in a snatch block. They don't cost that much, and is worth it's weight in gold !!!! Folks don't have to use it all the time while they are winching, but it nice to have handy if it comes down to it !!!</P>


Doubles your pulling power, and puts less labor / stresson your winch . Whatever size winch you have ~~~ </P>


In my conditions, I need / want a good winch, and want it to workANYTIME &amp; EVERYTIME I need it. For down here, when the sun goes down, The food chain goes in reverse in these swamps, the hunter become the hunted !!! [:-*]</P>


</P>


</P>

bczoom
12-14-2007, 04:52 AM
I would suggest anyone, whatever the winch size or application is, to invest in a snatch block. They don't cost that much, and is worth it's weight in gold !!!! Folks don't have to use it all the time while they are winching, but it nice to have handy if it comes down to it !!!
Agreed. I forgot about that. I often use one when dragging logs to better define/control the direction I want the log towed.

hammerhead
12-14-2007, 12:30 PM
Thanks guys:</P>


Jamie [Two Guns] don't you have a 3000 also? I think most everyone would aggree a winch is a good idea to have on your RTV .. period.. in case one gets stuck. If I can easily do some lighter logging with it all the better. My current trails are used for other purposes [recreationally] So I do not really like the idea of using the farmi todrag logs all the way to my yard. I like cutting them to stove size in the woods. So pulling them to the trail as you do [bczoom] with a smaller winch sounds doable. sofar I either hook a chain to them and pull them out with the tractor... or do it by hand. </P>


Some are saying that if you are really stuck a 3000 winch is not big enough... but in those emergency situations one could use a block to double the pulling power of the 3000 ... it is just a little slower... that sounds like a great set up to me. </P>


glenn</P>

hammerhead
12-14-2007, 12:38 PM
oops I forgot.. there are different fairleads depending if you are using cable....or rope?</P>


</P>


glenn</P>

hammerhead
12-14-2007, 03:51 PM
Jamie... where does one get the block set up?</P>


</P>


glenn</P>

TWO GUNS
12-14-2007, 04:55 PM
truckntow.com &gt;&gt;&gt; </P>


agri-supply.com</P>


</P>


most better hardware stores</P>


ebay</P>


Farm equipment supplies stores</P>


Just about most everyone carries the snatch blocks, might have to do some shopping to find your best price. I picked up three in the last year on ebay at a fair price ........ Just make sure you get a quality unit, not no cheapy, for them cables has some kinda pressure on them ....</P>

TWO GUNS
12-14-2007, 05:02 PM
Yes, I have a 3000 lb. Ramsey winch &gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt; and also carry the snatch block with me just in case I ever need the extra pulling power.... We use snatch blocks all the time in my business' and the farms &amp; plantations &gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;</P>


I really like the Ramsey winches, they are a quality product. Been using Ramsey for years, and I have never had one let me down ....</P>

TWO GUNS
12-15-2007, 06:22 AM
Found you a great source &gt;&gt;&gt; Just got the catalog in today in the mail !!!</P>


Colemans Surplus</P>


Item # 190601 ***6 inch GI Snatch Blocks *** $ 35.00</P>


1-888-478-7758</P>


That is a steal *********</P>

dkf435
12-15-2007, 08:58 PM
The V4288 kit is needed unless you want to weld up a bracket , the winch bolts half to bracket and bumper. The V4278 winch kit comes with all the wires precut and crimped for the RTV1100 and makes it nice. Only problem with going to the 4.0 or larger winch is the bolt holes are different and you may have to weld on nuts and drill holes to match up. Not sure if it is worth going to the bigger winch other than duty cycle and less wear on the larger winch.I just need the winch on the RTV for self recovery andI am lucky that I do have a Lewis Chainsaw winch that is quicker and holds alot more cable for hauling out firewood.</P>


</P>


David</P>


</P>

hammerhead
12-16-2007, 03:59 AM
David I have been very interested in the chainsaw winch as well as the capstain [sp] winches in quite some time. If you have one of these why would you also put a winch on your RTV?</P>


</P>


glenn</P>

JohnR
12-16-2007, 07:16 AM
How do you rig the snatch block,to double your pulling power. What I have done in the past is put a small chain around a tree hook the snatch block to chain and then run the cable from the winch over the pulley of the snatch block and run it back to the 1100 and hook it off. Is this the right approach??

TWO GUNS
12-16-2007, 07:40 AM
That's right, and that's why I have a receiver on the front not just to hang my winch hook when not in use, but after I run my line threw the snatch block, I return the line and hook it on the shackle that is installed on the receiver. Works out easy and very well &gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;

bczoom
12-17-2007, 06:55 AM
Glenn - Yes. There's 2 types of fairleads. The roller fairlead is used for cables. The Hawse fairlead is used for rope.
You can use a roller fairlead with rope but you just need to make sure you don't get the rope kinked in the corners of the rollers.

David - As I recall, the mounting kit is needed for the 1100 but is <u>not</u> needed for the 900. It's been a few years since I mounted mine. Can someone that mounted a winch to their 900 and has a better memory than me confirm?

Pumpkin
12-17-2007, 08:07 AM
<FONT size=1>TWO GUNS</FONT></P>


<FONT size=1>The winch looks great. It is a RAMSEY ______________..</FONT></P>


<FONT size=1>Are the wireing and installation instructions included with the winch? Is the wireing complicated, rate it 1-10.</FONT></P>


<FONT size=1>Thank you!!!!</FONT></P>


<FONT size=1>This is a great site, WISHING A MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL.</FONT></P>


<FONT size=1>Pumpkin</FONT></P>

dkf435
12-17-2007, 12:20 PM
Sometimes we take the RTV out riding and do not want to pack the chainsaw winch around as it has a large motor on it and is heavy. </P>


David</P>


</P>

TWO GUNS
12-17-2007, 02:46 PM
PUMPKIN,</P>


Instructions came with mine.... And it was no problem with the wiring, just took my time and done it proper.Routing the wires under the cab, running right next to other cables, etc ....Rate installation as a 9 , ~~~ 10 being the best &gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;</P>


If you get the Ramsey with the Rocker Switch hookup, let me know, and I will post a pic on where I installed it ........</P>

oldforester
12-21-2007, 03:33 AM
Quercuschips,</P>


Again welcome to this forum, as you have found just ask a question and these members are more than happy to help with some great information. I've got a 900 model and have learned a lot just by checking this forum every few days. Before you do or buy anything for the RTV, check this site.</P>


On a side note when I read your post I also recognized your handle. I've put more paint on (to mark for removal) and set up more regeneration of your namesake than most people around. My operation is in S.E. Ohio. </P>


You will find members with all types of backgrounds here. Again welcome.</P>


Old Forester</P>

quercuschips
12-31-2007, 05:03 AM
Old Forester, </P>


Sorry for the delay in responding.</P>


I have been busy with Christmas and several maintenance issues at work.</P>


I am also a forester.</P>


Ispent 30 years working for industry and the last 61/2 operating a chip mill in middle Tn.</P>


I ship chips to Domtar @ Hawesville, Ky.</P>


What type of business do you have?</P>

oldforester
01-18-2008, 09:48 AM
Sorry I took so long to get back to you, I just don't check the site too often. Always good to talk to another forester. I worked 32+ years for the state of Ohio on public lands, now retired and working on a few private jobs, marking and administering sales mostly. I am also working on my 90 acres of assorted brush and trees, had two sales in the last 12 years and planning one in the next 2-3. </P>


Keep in touch, as you can see this is a great site with some very knowledgeable people. I have not tricked my ride near as much as some of these guys, but you can bet any time I think about adding anything or doing any maintenance that I'm going to ask this bunch first.</P>