PDA

View Full Version : beach tractor help - newbie

fla45fan
08-04-2010, 11:08 PM
OK I'm very new to this tractor stuff - I recently inherited my childhood home which happens to be on a beach on Lake Erie in WNY state. Years ago we used a jeep to haul logs and back drag the sand to remove weeds and light debris. Nowadays it seems everyone is using tractors to do the job. I hired a contractor to clean it this spring and he used a large John Deere (95 series i think) to lift the logs (anywhere from 10 to 25 feet) before cutting them with a chain saw and stacking them to burn. He then used a rear rake to clear debris and weeds growing in the sand. It looked like the local public beach - clean and neat. The weeds tend to grow (like weeds) constantly causing me to use a weed whacker to clear them every month (3 hours each time). I have access to New Holland, Cub Cadet Yanmar, Mahindra, and JoHn Deere (I think) dealers. I want a front end loader bucket (possibly with some sort of fork attachments) and a rear rake. How much HP will I need ? What specs should I be looking for in bucket lifting capacity? Out of the brands which gives the biggest bang for the buck? Spring clean up after the winter storms is a BIG project - this year over four hours by a professional with a big tractor. Bear with me - I'm trying to spend as little as possible but don't want to have to upgrade because I cheaped out. I'm all ears.

irwin
08-05-2010, 04:30 AM
4 hours of work a year with large tractor. Mmmm

Do you have any other use for a $16k to $40k machine? How much land is included in this beachfront property...

The biggest job you mentioned is moving logs.. they can be cut so a smaller tractor could move them easily, unless you have other chores for it just about any tractor will work.

Good luck tractor hunting...:wave:

bczoom
08-05-2010, 07:42 AM
Welcome to the forum.