Kubota RTV900 or Bobcat 3400D

Melensdad

Gold Site Supporter
Both are roughly $12,000.

Both are Kubota powered.

Bobcat has an aluminum frame, made by Club Car, with Kubota 24.8hp diesel engine with a top speed of 30mph. RTV900 has a reputation for extreme reliability and is built entirely by Kubota and has a 21.6hp diesel and a top speed of 25mph.

Can anyone tell me the differences between the transmission types :confused2: of these machines and what the real world advantages and disadvantages are between them. Kubota uses a VHT transmission? Near as I can tell, the Bobcat uses a CVT transmission with belts, but I'm not positive of that.

Bobcat 3400 webpage => http://www.bobcat.com/utility_machines/utility_vehicles/models/3400

Kubota RTV900 webpage => http://www.kubota.com/product/RTV900/RTV900.aspx

bczoom

Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
I'm no tranny expert so I couldn't give any specifics or real-world differences.

Looking at the specs, it appears the RTV is a bit bigger, heavier and has higher capacities.

The Bobcat appears to be in more of a direct competition with something like the Gator or if it existed, a workhorse version of the Ranger.

I think most here will agree that the RTV is a work machine. Not for playing and it's "play factor" is really low. It'll haul whatever you can carry and just chug along.

There are a few things that have been a pain for the RTV owners but most appear to have been resolved in the newer models (shifting problems, driveshaft rattle...).

SpudHauler

Site Supporter
And get to know the dealers.

Which dealership do you prefer?

He will be the one you talk to after the purchase.

SpudHauler

Site Supporter
CVT - continuously variable transmission

These are driven through a very strong belt just like a snowmobile.
Not good in wet situations, depending how water tight the cases are.
Works good in snowmobile use and is used a lot in the utv market.

HST - hydrostatic transmission

Fluid driven through pumps and stuff.