How do I hook up a shredder

bdoss

This is an absolute NEWBY question- be gentle with me...:respect:

I purchased a Ford 8N with a shredder- The hydraulics are not good enough to use as a leveler- They will lift fine but won't hold position- so I have chains to set the level..

I want to be safe with the tractor and hope I'm stating the questions right.

Two question sections (for now)

1: do I use the top link to take the weight off the wheel or do I let the weight of the shredder ride on the wheel? How much adjustment should be given to the top link?

2: I'm having a devil of a time leveling the shredder- one chain link makes about 2 inches difference in the height and I can't get both sides even- I have a crank on the right bottom link and I can adjust it only so far- It helps but doesn't get the shredder straight- Either the right side ( facing front sitting in the seat ) is too high or there is no weight on the left chain and the left side is too high(?)... The left bottom link was busted and been rewelded so it is shorter then the right.
Does anyone have any advice, documents, or sites that would help me? I can get it adjusted where I can use it but it is too low- I want to bring it up about an inch.

Attachments

• IM002210.jpg
    IM002210.jpg
    520.5 KB · Views: 48
  • IM002213.jpg
    IM002213.jpg
    421.5 KB · Views: 45

Mark777

The way I set mine is by relaxing all the hydraulics and the top link pressure. I level the shredder…less about 5° lower in the front. Then I attach the top link and rock shaft lift arms and drive shaft. I don’t use the chain system when I use the top link.

I’ve blown up your picture and the lower lift arm pins seem unusually high…as though someone has repositioned them. (It could be my imagination but if not, that can be problematic when setting up the mower). I don’t have a Ford N model and maybe someone else, hopefully, can give you (us) a better explanation.

Mark

bdoss

Thanks Mark.