Net Tractor Talk
       

Go Back   Net Tractor Talk > Brand Specific Forums > Ford / New Holland Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-23-2016, 07:26 PM
Doc's Avatar
Doc Doc is offline
Chief Bottle Washer / Admin

 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio USA
Posts: 5,682
Thanks: 1,416
Thanked 355 Times in 222 Posts
Doc is on a distinguished road
Default

No clue on tank replacement but ....might you be able to put a liner in or seal the tank so no more rust gets into your gas line? What I'm not sure of is if you would have to remove the tank to apply this stuff ..but here are a couple links I found. I have not tried this stuff ...just searched and found it as I had read of a car restore that did this on his rusted tank. If I can find that tidbit again I'll share it here but so far I have not been able to locate that one.

http://www.eastwood.com/ew-gas-tank-...-for-cars.html

https://www.kbs-coatings.com/tank-sealer.html
__________________
Scott me up Beamy!

Other Fun Forums:
Forums Forums .com +++ Net Boat Talk Forums +++ Net Cooking Talk Forums +++
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-01-2017, 04:47 PM
rlk rlk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 124
Thanks: 12
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
rlk is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlk View Post
I am thinking it may be the gas tank and rust etc clogging it up - I took the fuel bowl off and opened the valve and no gas ran out. I am going to take the entire bowl off and use a flashlight to see if there is a bunch of sediment in the tank - if I have to replace the tank is it a job I can do myself?
TLK, I removed the tank from my Massey Ferguson 35 without a lot of problem. Took it to a shop where they cleaned the inside then put a liner in it. About 5 or so years later I saw a leak. Took the tank back to them and they repaired the leak at no charge to me. That's pretty good customer service.

If your tank is as easy to get to as mine was, you can remove it yourself. Just drain the tank first to make it easier to handle.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-02-2017, 01:35 PM
tlk tlk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
tlk is on a distinguished road
Default

ok so I replaced the gas tank that I determined was very rusty. Got fuel flow to and out the carb -

I also bought a new sediment bowl - now my problem is that the gas will flow from the tank into the bowl as long as I do not tighten down the bowl - as soon as I tighten it the gas stops flowing. All filters are new - any ideas why this is happening?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-03-2017, 08:18 AM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 151
Thanked 444 Times in 340 Posts
bczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nice
Default

That may be normal. The engine needs to pull the fuel so once you start it, it'll suck that air out and get a prime then it should be good to go. When you seal it, that air in the bowl doesn't have anywhere to escape to quickly (visible to you). It may bleed out back to the tank but there's a lot of head pressure on it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-06-2017, 05:54 PM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 151
Thanked 444 Times in 340 Posts
bczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nice
Default

Did you get it running?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2018, www.DotHQ.com