Painting my Yanmar 155D

HI all, I plan to repaint my 155D, starting in a week or two. Its in pretty sorry shape right now...paint wise. Just finished getting it into running condition after it sat for 8 years. Now I am going to make it purty. I know I am not upto Marks abilities but I am not a newbie to painting either.
Anyway, I plan to post a running step by step commentary along with photo's as I go. IF it can help someone who has never done anything like it before, thats all I want. Mark777 is the expert on painting in the forum so I am depending on him to keep me honest. ;) And to keep my mistakes to a minimum. :whistle:

Okay, here are some before photo's so everyone can get an idea of what is ahead of me.

Attachments

• IMG_0862.JPG
    IMG_0862.JPG
    279.3 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG_0864.JPG
    IMG_0864.JPG
    280.1 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_0865.JPG
    IMG_0865.JPG
    266.8 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_0874.JPG
    IMG_0874.JPG
    267 KB · Views: 40

shimp

hey GC

will it buff/polish without repainting?

i luv that old 'puke' green yanmar color of paint=Honestly!!

look forward to watching your progress, and thanks for sharing it with us :)

ps-hope you go back with the factory green:)

hey GC

will it buff/polish without repainting?

i luv that old 'puke' green yanmar color of paint=Honestly!!

look forward to watching your progress, and thanks for sharing it with us :)

ps-hope you go back with the factory green:)

Naaa...its far past buffing or shining the original paint. I do have a spot up under the hood that is not faded and is the original color. I plan to take some of it in and get it scanned at the paint dealer to get a match. I will post the numbers of the paint mix once I get it so if anyone else needs it they can have it mixed as well.

Yea, I actually like the color myself as well. There is no way I would paint it red. I am tempted to paint it a fiery type blue, maybe with some racing stripes...;) Naaaaaaa!!!:bump:

Grrrr