ALL IN A DAYS WORK!

Hello All!:wave:
Today I welded hooks and toothbar plates to my bucket and also finished my carry all! I bought a stick welder because I got impatient waiting on a welder to come out to the house. I've been practicing welding for a month or so and it just seems to get tougher. Anyway, first I sanded all of the paint off in the weld area. Then I clamped down the 2" X 3" X 1/4" thick angle iron and sat back and told myself "Whats the worst that could happen"?

Attachments

• 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    76.7 KB · Views: 43
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    63.9 KB · Views: 44
  • 3.JPG
    3.JPG
    383.1 KB · Views: 45
  • 4.JPG
    4.JPG
    381.8 KB · Views: 43
So after about an hour of thinking of all the worst things that could happen being a novice welder, I decided it was time. I unhooked my tractor battery, grabbed some 7018AC rods and hoped for the best!:huh: I don't know how many rods I used but dang I'm tired. I ran a two beads the full length of the angle iron on top and bottom. Then I welded the toothbar plates. Welding vertical is very tough for a novice like me. I can confidently say that these are really ugly welds but hey if they hold, who cares, right? Welding, chipping slag, brushing with a metal brush and grinding definitely took up most of the day.

Attachments

• 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    91.9 KB · Views: 41
  • 6.JPG
    6.JPG
    82.8 KB · Views: 43
  • 7.JPG
    7.JPG
    74.5 KB · Views: 43
Last edited:
After what seemed like half a day, wait, it was half a day later, the welding was done. Although it takes much practice, I couldn't do this much if it weren't for the guidance of Brian and Rob, so thanks guys! I started grinding on the bucket to improve the aesthetics then I got out the Mahindra spray paint. Oh, did I mention that I'm not a painter either? After two coats I was getting tired and I still wanted to finish my carry all.

Attachments

• 8.JPG
    8.JPG
    57.6 KB · Views: 40
  • 9.JPG
    9.JPG
    59.4 KB · Views: 43
  • 10.JPG