Mail Box Destruction

alltoys

I have or had in this case a real nice mail box until I noticed it flattened by some vandals. Second time this year. So being a welder I had some plate steel laying around decided to build a heavy duty mail box. I made a square box with lid welded to a piece of 1/4'' wall 3" square tubing all welded to a thin wall pipe to press in the ground.

If the little turd decides to take a mighty swing he will have the surprise of his life. If it gets hit by a car at least the pipe will crumple not causing major damage but it should slow the vehicle down.

PBinWA

Sounds like a good plan. :thumb:

Some people argue that mailboxes shouldn't be so tough as to cause damage when a car hits them "accidentally". I'm not one of those people.

If I had a mailbox it would be made of concrete and steel! ;)

Last edited:

EastTexFrank

Gold Site Supporter
Many years ago, that was pretty much my solution at the farm to those that liked to play "rural baseball". The only difference was that I used two mailboxes, one inside the other, and filled the space in between with 2 sacks of concrete. It worked great for a long, long time. Every now and then you would notice a slight "ding" on the box and realize that some kid got a real shock when they swung at it.

Then, unfortunately, the farm road was redesignated as a State road and the State requires that all mailboxes on State roads be the "break-away" type to prevent the type of accidents that have been mentioned. So far we've lost it three times and there's not much you can do about it unless you want to get into an argument that you can't win with TxDOT.

Doc

Admin
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Would love to see a pic of it alltoys if it's not to much trouble.