Diesel Fuel Additive

elkhound

Site Supporter
I am new to the diesel tractor world. Just bought my first one a little less than 2 weeks ago. It's a 2001 L3000dt. I was at the local Kubota dealership early last week and asked about a fuel additive to prevent it from gelling. They recommended Stanadyne Performance Formula for not only cold weather, but year round use.

I bought a 16oz. bottle. Stanadyne recommends adding to fuel tank or fuel can prior to filling for thorough mixing. If I did my math right that is 1.2oz. in my 5 gal. can.. My question is: My fuel tank is nearly full, we are just a few days before our first frost. If I put some in the tank will it properly mix? Or do I need to start topping the tank off every time I park it? Thanks for your input.

nixon

Just add what You need ,and drive it around a bit . That should get the Stanadyne mixed into the fuel ,and give it time to get into Your fuel filter as well .

shvl73

It can't hurt to add directly to your tank, as suggested, but cold temps that gel fuel are still a ways off.

California

Super Moderator
Staff member
Site Supporter
Year round? Maybe improved smoothness is what your dealer wants for you. (and I assume some antibacterial effect too).

My elderly Yanmar clearly runs smoother and starts easier using Power Service. I've read that US diesel is spec'ed 40 Cetane minimum while this tractor was designed for the 45 Cetane minimum in Japan.

PS gray bottle claims to add 6 Cetane points but no anti-gel, while PS anti-gel, white bottle, claims 3 Cetane points. I don't think the brand name makes much difference in diesel additives.

Without additive the Yanmar clanks badly, not a clatter but a real sledgehammer-on-a-manhole thunk at each idling stroke. It doesn't exactly purr with PS but at least you don't think you will suffer immediate hearing loss. (Sound file. - Listen at 0:45. This is *with* PS.)

I have a steel rod I stir with if I have to pour additive into a full tank.

Melensdad