New/used RTV owner, Intermittent temp gauge

Fellow RTV motorheads,

Bought an 05 900 RTV last week and have been peckin away at some of the mechanical and electrical issues since. Ordered a CD shop manual as well since I'm new to wrenching on these beasts. Right now I'm playing with an intermittent temp gauge and trying to find the sending unit so I can begin the troubleshooting process. Located the fan sensor near the thermostat housing and that is working but I assume there is a separate sending unit for the gauge itself. So any help locating that would be great.

Initially the alternator was not charging but was corrected when I replaced the #8 blown fuse, the overhead cab switches also came back on. Upon testing all the fuses in the block I found that the #4 glow lamp fuse has no juice coming into it. Though the glow plug and dash lamp are working and I'm having no cold start problems. Which makes me wonder what does that #4 fuse control?
Any feedback on these problems is appreciated.

Hand Salute!

shinnery

In my '06 RTV 900 I remember seeing sensors on both ends of the head, one is the temp sensor I believe. Since the glow plugs only work when the switch is held in the midpoint position, I will bet there is only power to that fuse when the switch is held in the midpoint position. Good Luck with everything.
Bryce

Thanks for the reply Bryce, yes there is a sensor on the back of the head and because of the location I assumed it was oil pressure. But I will double check that and your suggestion to test that fuse at the midpoint. That does make sense.
Thanks again

bczoom

Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Welcome to the forum and congrats on your new-to-you RTV.

Would you elaborate on intermittent temp gauge? I too have an older RTV and in general, the temp gauge will just sit there without registering. I have to work mine pretty hard for about 30 minutes before I even get a reading.

Are you in W. PA? Your forum name sounds like you're in the Laurel Highlands.