New shed out of old materials

mobilus

In an attempt to push myself along a little, I thought I'd show you my latest undertaking: an equipment shed tied into the back of my livestock shelter.

Remember that I live in a rural community in Texas...the only thing that requires any inspection is septic systems...and that's only because the sprinkler types failed to perform to expectations, creating a nightmare for a lot of folks. Anyway, I can build any structure out of what ever i choose.

I offered a local home improvement warehouse the savings in manpower that would have gone toward dumping a big pile of rack systems. That's the way I approached the manager, and she said that I could have all that they were getting rid of. Motherload!

So I loaded up the trailer three times, and I've been using the materials for a few years now.

The first picture shows the horizontal beams that I welded together to create 18' rafters. The second picture is a pair of the beams welded together. The third picture is how I attached them them to the existing rafters on the other structure...I just cut the little ears off the ends of the beams and welded them back on one end.

If for no other reason for this post, I hope that someone will look at their scrap piles a little different...well, I have to finish this thing first!

Attachments

• DSC00716.JPG
    DSC00716.JPG
    78.4 KB · Views: 149
  • DSC00718.JPG
    DSC00718.JPG
    73.6 KB · Views: 145
  • DSC00719.JPG
    DSC00719.JPG
    80.5 KB · Views: 144

mobilus

As the work progressed...

Attachments

• DSC00539.JPG
    DSC00539.JPG
    69 KB · Views: 142
  • DSC00720.JPG
    DSC00720.JPG
    68.6 KB · Views: 139
  • DSC00721.JPG
    DSC00721.JPG
    68.5 KB · Views: 140
  • DSC00722.JPG
    DSC00722.JPG
    66.6 KB · Views: 136
  • DSC00723.JPG
    DSC00723.JPG
    67.3 KB · Views: 142

shinnlinger

Well that was a nice find!... I love the crap you bring home when you have a PU , a welder and a place to store scrap.