Net Tractor Talk
       

Go Back   Net Tractor Talk > Brand Specific Forums > Kubota RTV Owners Group Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2018, 07:59 PM
dtreid dtreid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dtreid is on a distinguished road
Default rtv x1100c bogs down

My rtv x1100c tends to bog down quite easily under full throttle. Is there an adjustment to have it bypass more easily so that the engine isn't put under overload so easily?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2018, 11:12 PM
Doc's Avatar
Doc Doc is offline
Chief Bottle Washer / Admin

 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio USA
Posts: 5,980
Thanks: 2,301
Thanked 530 Times in 337 Posts
Doc is on a distinguished road
Default

The RTV hydro trannys take some getting used to. IOW not intuitive. When you notice it starting to bog down let off a bit off the pedal and the engine will then pick up the slack.
__________________
Scott me up Beamy!

Other Fun Forums:
Forums Forums .com +++ Net Pet Talk Forums +++ Net Cooking Talk Forums +++
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2018, 12:00 AM
dtreid dtreid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dtreid is on a distinguished road
Default

I took a brand new one for a drive to see how it compared. It acted like my rtv900. Full throttle and the engine pretty much stayed at max rpm no matter what you were doing as far as hills.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2018, 08:41 AM
628pm 628pm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 221
Thanks: 18
Thanked 70 Times in 42 Posts
628pm is on a distinguished road
Default

When I had my x900 it worked like doc said.
__________________
Bill
Kubota Bx2680,with FEL and skid steer connection
Kubota F2690
2014 Kubota RTV X900 with Boss V Snowplow (traded in)
2018 John Deere Gator 835M (HVAC)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 628pm For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-25-2018)
  #5  
Old 11-24-2018, 06:56 PM
Lee1935 Lee1935 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northport Wa/ property in BC with a elevation of 1490 ft to 2500 feet, with Mts behind that hit 6000
Posts: 186
Thanks: 40
Thanked 87 Times in 65 Posts
Lee1935 is on a distinguished road
Default

A hand throttle kit will let you keep the revs up and stop thar transmission from shifting to a higher gear ratio Takes some getting used to ☺ put it low or high range, pull the hand throttle out to Max and slowly push down on the footfeed
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lee1935 For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-25-2018), Keifer (12-13-2018)
  #6  
Old 11-24-2018, 07:42 PM
bordercollie's Avatar
bordercollie bordercollie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: central Mississippi
Posts: 4,072
Thanks: 1,242
Thanked 940 Times in 568 Posts
bordercollie is on a distinguished road
Default

Does this model have a spark arrestor ? If so, it could be clogged? collie
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bordercollie For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-25-2018), Keifer (12-13-2018)
  #7  
Old 11-26-2018, 03:29 PM
foxalaska's Avatar
foxalaska foxalaska is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Galena/Wiseman, Alaska
Posts: 103
Thanks: 18
Thanked 44 Times in 23 Posts
foxalaska is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee1935 View Post
A hand throttle kit will let you keep the revs up and stop thar transmission from shifting to a higher gear ratio Takes some getting used to ☺ put it low or high range, pull the hand throttle out to Max and slowly push down on the footfeed
Certainly works for me. My hand throttle seems to have a detent at about 1/3 throttle. Not sure if by design or a stiff spot in the cable. I leave it in that position all the time except when starting. Makes for smoother operation at slow speeds. I'm thinking of installing a dash throttle control similar to aircraft. Holding the hand throttle wide open on hills is a bit of a pain in the butt.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2018, 05:01 PM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,985
Thanks: 236
Thanked 569 Times in 426 Posts
bczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxalaska View Post
Holding the hand throttle wide open on hills is a bit of a pain in the butt.
Do you have the OEM hand throttle kit? Mine locks into place wherever I set it. Once set, you can also turn the knob and it'll gradually increase or decrease the RPM's depending on which way you turn it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bczoom For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-27-2018)
  #9  
Old 11-26-2018, 05:07 PM
foxalaska's Avatar
foxalaska foxalaska is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Galena/Wiseman, Alaska
Posts: 103
Thanks: 18
Thanked 44 Times in 23 Posts
foxalaska is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bczoom View Post
Do you have the OEM hand throttle kit? Mine locks into place wherever I set it. Once set, you can also turn the knob and it'll gradually increase or decrease the RPM's depending on which way you turn it.
Mine is OEM. 2015 1100c. It's just a simple pull knob. I'm going to install what you have(aircraft type) but thinking about somewhere on the dash. Not handy where it is by the diff lock cable.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to foxalaska For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-27-2018)
  #10  
Old 11-27-2018, 02:40 PM
Kanook's Avatar
Kanook Kanook is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West of Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 594
Thanks: 117
Thanked 106 Times in 75 Posts
Kanook has a spectacular aura aboutKanook has a spectacular aura about
Default

FoxAlaska...sounds like your hand throttle isn't working correctly. As Zoomie said it should lock at any position between idle and full throttle.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kanook For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-27-2018), foxalaska (11-28-2018)
  #11  
Old 11-27-2018, 03:49 PM
aurthuritis aurthuritis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 221
Thanked 528 Times in 328 Posts
aurthuritis is on a distinguished road
Default

there is a limit to everything but if your controls are not adjusted correctly it will cause premature bogging down of the engine.
__________________
2014 RTV X1100 CRLA 2014 MX 5100f 2008 RTV 1100cw
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aurthuritis For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-27-2018)
  #12  
Old 11-29-2018, 05:49 PM
Lee1935 Lee1935 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northport Wa/ property in BC with a elevation of 1490 ft to 2500 feet, with Mts behind that hit 6000
Posts: 186
Thanks: 40
Thanked 87 Times in 65 Posts
Lee1935 is on a distinguished road
Default

Here's a much better price for a throttle kit
https://www.messicks.com/part/k7561-...WEbCG-FVj0sP_A
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lee1935 For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-30-2018), Keifer (12-13-2018)
  #13  
Old 11-30-2018, 07:15 AM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,985
Thanks: 236
Thanked 569 Times in 426 Posts
bczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee1935 View Post
Here's a much better price for a throttle kit
https://www.messicks.com/part/k7561-...WEbCG-FVj0sP_A
Be advised that this says it is for the RTV900. Don't know if it'll fit the 1100.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bczoom For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-30-2018)
  #14  
Old 11-30-2018, 01:13 PM
Lee1935 Lee1935 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northport Wa/ property in BC with a elevation of 1490 ft to 2500 feet, with Mts behind that hit 6000
Posts: 186
Thanks: 40
Thanked 87 Times in 65 Posts
Lee1935 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bczoom View Post
Be advised that this says it is for the RTV900. Don't know if it'll fit the 1100.
I would assume that most folks know how to contact customer service☺☺
the 1100s would have a longer cable. My X900 dealer cable had roughly 10 inches of extra length
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lee1935 For This Useful Post:
Doc  (11-30-2018)
  #15  
Old 12-03-2018, 04:14 PM
foxalaska's Avatar
foxalaska foxalaska is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Galena/Wiseman, Alaska
Posts: 103
Thanks: 18
Thanked 44 Times in 23 Posts
foxalaska is on a distinguished road
Default

That's what I need. Mine is nothing more than a choke cable.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to foxalaska For This Useful Post:
Doc  (12-04-2018)
  #16  
Old 12-04-2018, 12:22 PM
Lee1935 Lee1935 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northport Wa/ property in BC with a elevation of 1490 ft to 2500 feet, with Mts behind that hit 6000
Posts: 186
Thanks: 40
Thanked 87 Times in 65 Posts
Lee1935 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxalaska View Post
Certainly works for me. My hand throttle seems to have a detent at about 1/3 throttle. Not sure if by design or a stiff spot in the cable. I leave it in that position all the time except when starting. Makes for smoother operation at slow speeds. I'm thinking of installing a dash throttle control similar to aircraft. Holding the hand throttle wide open on hills is a bit of a pain in the butt.
I've often thought that something similar to the old model A hand throttle
would be just just
right
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-04-2018, 12:23 PM
Lee1935 Lee1935 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northport Wa/ property in BC with a elevation of 1490 ft to 2500 feet, with Mts behind that hit 6000
Posts: 186
Thanks: 40
Thanked 87 Times in 65 Posts
Lee1935 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxalaska View Post
Certainly works for me. My hand throttle seems to have a detent at about 1/3 throttle. Not sure if by design or a stiff spot in the cable. I leave it in that position all the time except when starting. Makes for smoother operation at slow speeds. I'm thinking of installing a dash throttle control similar to aircraft. Holding the hand throttle wide open on hills is a bit of a pain in the butt.
I've often thought that something similar to the old model A hand throttle
would be just just right
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:44 PM
Alaskanassasin Alaskanassasin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 519
Thanks: 67
Thanked 186 Times in 138 Posts
Alaskanassasin is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanook View Post
FoxAlaska...sounds like your hand throttle isn't working correctly. As Zoomie said it should lock at any position between idle and full throttle.
Mines the same way it has a high idle detent. If you pull it farther it will spring back. I am thinking there is a spring somewhere that could just be removed so it will stay put.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alaskanassasin For This Useful Post:
Doc  (12-06-2018)
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2018, www.DotHQ.com