What Year Model for New VIN?

Hi All,

Newbie here, and I'm searching for an 1100 for our ranch in New Mexico and going hunting occasionally .

The state is very anal about the way they require RTV's to be titled/registered. They require a title from another state for titling used vehicles brought in to NM. Many states don't title RTV's, and many states do title but don't register. I've gotten that far; Texas is that way (kinda).

Since they (NM) require a previous title, in what year did Kubota start putting 'real' VINs on RTVs? In other words, the 17-digit number versus the old 16-digit number. I've narrowed it down to 2008 or 2009.

Thanks !

Last edited:

bczoom

Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Welcome to the forum!

I don't recall the year myself but thought it was before 2008. Someone should hop in here with an answer.

So, NM won't issue a title on a used vehicle, bought in or out of state? What if you buy some old Chevy that never had a title? Won't they issue you one with a valid bill of sale and/or a Certificate of Origin?

My State also requires registration and title. They rejected my application due to my old 16-digit VIN. I sent them a pic of the VIN plate so they could see it was only 16 and all they did was add a 0 to the end to make it accepted in their system.

That's about the story of it.

I've figured out that (as near as I can tell) 2007 and prior years used the 16-digit ID number ... the old 'KRTV...' format. I see that on a 2010 model, the VIN is the 'A5K...' format. I'm just trying to figure out what year model is the oldest I can buy with the new format so the state can title it.

I found a nice 1100 in Texas but it had come from another state without a title as a farm vehicle. The Texas owner never tried to title it since it was a 'strictly farm use' vehicle. New Mexico stated they would not honor a Bill of Sale to get a title and registration issued. If it doesn't meet the wording in their manuals, it doesn't get done. No help at all.