John Deere 5020 owners in this group?

getitdone1

As I mentioned in a recent post I bought an old John Deere 5020, May 24--my birthday !--and looking forward to getting it here in next few days. This was always my unreachable "dream tractor."

This one's not been souped-up with a blower or big engine. Engine runs really good. Very responsive, no smoke except white colored smoke when it first starts up. It's the Wheatland version with what I call "Orchard fenders." I do like that look!

Sold my dad's 4020 at auction last November and should not have. This 5020 will be it's replacement. The 4020 was gas and IT LIKED GAS ! Both of these tractors were made in 1967.

I'm guessing a guy could increase horsepower of this 5020 up to 160 hp and never have a problem from it over a long period of time. More than that and you might be inviting trouble.

Except for an old TD-24 bulldozer many years ago I'm new to diesel. Does diesel fuel "go bad" over time and are there good additives that will keep it good indefinitely?

Hope to hear from other 5020 owners.

Don

Doc

Admin
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Happy Birthday!!! :beer: Hope you had a good one. That is also my brother and sisters birhtday (twins), and Bob Dylan's bday! :D

If we don't have any JD 5020 dealers now your posts might help get some here. Google is amazing. It will find your posts and when others search on JD 5020 google will direct them here. So hopefully we'll have some 5020 owners here soon. :D

Yes, the fuel can gel up on you in cold weather. There are treatment that will add extra HP and prevent gel'ing, but dang if I can remember the name of it right now. :pat: I'm hoping someone else will jump in with the answer.

Jim_S

Super Moderator
SUPER Site Supporter
Gold Site Supporter
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!