Bush Hogging Rates

Yanmar226D

Im a contractor in Colorado with a Yanmar 226D and a 5' bush hog. Anyone have ideas on what to charge for bush hogging service? Per acre? Per Hour? Per Job?:thankyou2:

bczoom

Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Can you check around your area to see what others are charging?

A lot of things come into play when determining price.
Size - if it's small, you may need to charge more since it's not a full days work.
Distance - What's your plan for charging for distance?
Area condition - If it's hilly, rocky or full of other things that may damage your equipment, you should charge more than a nice simple, flat field.

You'll need to cover depreciation on equipment, fuel, maintenance, insurance, travel costs... as well as make a reasonable wage for yourself. I'd think somewhere between $40-60 per hour (but you need to consider the aforementioned points before specific pricing) is in the ballpark.

California

Super Moderator
Staff member
Site Supporter
A couple more points that might not be obvious starting out:

I've seen posters mention a scare when the mower threw heavy objects right past them. It's capable of chewing up tree limbs and other debris and has the power to throw them with deadly force. One guy added heavy steel wire mesh - the kind you could use for temporary flooring - lashed on the the back of his ROPS after such an experience. And the liability for damaging a customer's house, car, etc with thrown objects is obvious. (BTDT with a 5hp lawnmower!) The optional chains kit that slows down thrown objects is a good idea if your work is on unfamiliar ground. And make sure your liability insurance is suitable.