Net Tractor Talk
       

Go Back   Net Tractor Talk > Brand Specific Forums > Other Brands Forum (TYM Tractors, Cub Cadet, Craftsman, Simplicity etc.)

Other Brands Forum (TYM Tractors, Cub Cadet, Craftsman, Simplicity etc.) TYM, Tractors, Cub Cadet, Century, Craftsman, Simplicity etc.... With enough activity, any brand can become a forum. Show the activity here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:58 AM
wells wells is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wells is on a distinguished road
Default hinomoto 1987 power problem

Tractor runs fine until I hook up pto for shredding or plow (without using pto). Used to have great power and was able to shred or plow using high gear, now have to use medium gear and if I come up on a small hill almost lose all power and have to shift to 1st speed. Any ideas what's wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2013, 08:04 AM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,830
Thanks: 163
Thanked 458 Times in 349 Posts
bczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nice
Default

Welcome to the forum!

Sounds similar to an issue I had with my tractor last Spring. In my case, it was dirty fuel coupled with a somewhat clogged fuel filter. I pulled some fuel into a clear glass container between the tank and filter. Let it sit overnight. It had a significant amount of debris (primarily rust and dirt particles from inside the fuel tank). Changed out the fuel, filter and cleaned the tank and it's worked flawlessly since.

I'd check that first as it's an easy, cheap step and could fix your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2013, 12:06 AM
wells wells is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wells is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you very much for responding. I wanted to also add that my tractor runs fine in all gears and speeds if not pulling anything. Would that make any difference in your reply? Going to our place this weekend and will check the fuel items you stated above, just thought I should add that it runs good if nothing hooked up to it.

Thanks again!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2013, 08:32 AM
bczoom bczoom is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,830
Thanks: 163
Thanked 458 Times in 349 Posts
bczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nicebczoom is just really nice
Default

Mine ran fine at all RPM's as well but as soon as it was under load, it would sputter. When under load, it just couldn't pull the amount of fuel it needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2018, www.DotHQ.com