X1100c Snowblower alignment rattle height

J754

I purchased a ‘20 x1100c with k-connect plus snowblower and am looking for some owner feed back on pto noise. With hand throttle all the way up and pto engaged I can lift the blower to about 4” off the ground (maybe 1/4-1/3 the way up) before the shaft gets noisy. It’s not a horrible noise but just when you hear it go from smooth operating to that first audible difference where you say that’s as far as I want to raise it. Does that sound normal or do other owners get more angle/height out of an engaged pto blower?

Westfield

My snowblower does the same thing. I am no mechanic but I believe that is caused by the U joints. When the snow blower is flat on the ground the shift and the U joints are all lined up straight so it runs smoother. Then when you raise it up all the way it's putting stress on the U-joints and rest of the drive. That's my guess anyway. I am going to go to the dealer sometime when I get a chance. I have to ask him about the reduction box on the snowblower it is getting very hot after running the snowblower. I will ask him about the noise. But I will not make it out there for quite a while it's an hour and a half one way. I've also read about other people having that rattling noise when you raise the snowblower. Hopefully one of the experts on this site will let us know why they make that noise.
aurthuritis any ideas?

Last edited:

J754

I’d be interested in seeing measurements from the ground to bottom of blower when the noise becomes noticeably different on like machines. Are most people seeing around 4” before noise or some people getting more lift before the noise starts.

Mork