Oil change blunder

Goat Fan

Changing the oil and filter for the first time on my RTV X-1120 at 62 hours.
When I went to add the oil I put 1/2 quart 10w-30 in the "OIL" filler before realizing that was the trans oil filler neck. What a bonehead!
I have already changed both of the trans filters and fluid at 50 hours, do I need to do it again now?

Doc

Admin
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
I would for sure change the trans filter in question.
Was the machine run after the mistake?

Goat Fan

Only ran it to check for oil leak after changing oil. I could see changing the trans fluid but why the filters too?

Doc

Admin
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
I'm not sure which is right but for a piece of equipment that expensive I would cut no corners.
I'll admit, I am guessing. I am not a mechanic and am not sure of what if anything that oil might hurt. Maybe you can run without doing anything. I'm not sure. but I prefer to be better safe than sorry with a 20k + RTV.

geohorn

SUPER Site Supporter
I sincerely doubt it would make any difference whatsoever for such a small amount.

Goat Fan

Thanks geohorn. I ended up replacing the fluid but not the filters just to be safe. Definitely wont make that mistake again!..I hope lol

Reactions: Doc

geohorn

SUPER Site Supporter
Hydraulic oil is a low-viscosity oil (SAE 10-20) with anti-friction and temperature stabilizers
Your engine oil is a 10W30 multi-viscosity oil (behaves predominately as SAE 10) with anti-friction, dispersant, and temperature stabilizer.
Both sometimes contain conditioners for oil seals and gaskets.
(Think of dispersant as an anti-foaming cleaner… it keeps dirt and particles suspended until the filter removes the larger ones and/or the oil is drained at the next change. Since the transmission does not develop combustion by-products (carbon and dirt) … I cannot imagine how engine oil in such a small qty can cause any issue. In fact, some simple hydraulic systems use ordinary engine oil as the fluid.)