Rtv 900 transmission problem

aCanadian

Hey guys,

This is my first time on the forum and I hope I'm going to get some help here. Full disclosure I am not terribly mechanical so I will do my best to describe this.

I have an rtv 900 2007 and the transmission is not working properly. Or at all for that matter. I have scoured this forum and see a lot of problems with transmissions being stuck in gear and the hear shift lever is hard to move, this is not that problem. There is no resistance at all. The transmission is stuck in forward (L) and if I put it in L and let go of the handle the lever will literally drop into reverse (R) without changing the actual gears.

I did the obvious, I popped the hood and checked linkages and they appear fine even underneath the back box. Now picture this if you can, the linkage that controls the up and down (L -> R)(M -> /H) connects at a 90° angle to an arm that turn a rod in a casing. If you are still with me, that rod (probably 1.5 inches by 8 inches, trying to do it off memory probably wrong dimensions but it's a substantial piece of solid metal) is totally free floating inside its casing. I can pull it 3 or 4 inches towards the passenger side of the vehicle. I'm assuming this isn't right, any ideas or is this going to be a dealer sort of fix?

Doc

Admin
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Sounds like it is broken off, and free floating.
Just a guess but we'll see what the experts have to say when they find this thread.

bordercollie

Gold Site Supporter
Gold Site Supporter